bitcoinvancouver

The GoTo Site for all things Bitcoin in Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia Canada

My Night Out With Bitcoin Millionaire and Proud Stoner Charlie Shrem

My Night Out With Bitcoin Millionaire and Proud Stoner Charlie Shrem

Flying around the world, holding court at your own bar—life is pretty sweet for the 24-year-old

The first thing I notice when I walk into Charlie Shrem’s sprawling New York apartment is the musky smell of booze and weed. He shares the five-bedroom apartment with four roommates, and two of them are sitting on the couch. “Sup,” one of them says. I count at least two bongs.

Both big-screen TVs are on, and one of them is playing Jeopardy. On the floor is a book-marked copy of the The Secret Addiction: Overcoming Your Marijuana Dependency.

“I won’t hire you unless I drink with you or smoke weed with you—that’s a 100 percent fact,” Shrem tells me.

Tweet at us: Do you like weed?

The 24-year-old Shrem is Bitcoin royalty, in large part because of his early bets on the virtual currency, and I was eager to spend some time with him. We had met up an hour earlier, at the Midtown Manhattan bar he owns, EVR, which is just one flight down from his apartment.

When I walked up to him, Shrem was standing outside EVR smoking a cigarette. ”Cancer sticks,” he muttered as he flicked the cigarette into the street and grabbed my hand. Shrem led me through EVR’s absurdly large oak doors, high-fiving the bouncer and fist-bumping a busboy on the way in. He collapsed into a leather couch in the back of a bar, looking like a young, Jewish Tony Montana.

Courtney, Shrem’s perky blond girlfriend and a part-time bartender at EVR (pronounced “Ever”), brought me a vodka tonic. Shrem ordered a Stella.

“Thanks, babe,” he said.

Back in 2011, Shrem purchased “many thousands” of Bitcoins when they were just a few cents a piece. Today, they’re trading at $1,130. On paper, he’s likely worth millions, though, Shrem says, “No Bitcoiner will tell you how many Bitcoins they have.”

Questions, Comments, complaints or observations? Your input is important to us.

Information

This entry was posted on December 5, 2013 by and tagged .

Follow me on Twitter

bitcoinvancouver2013@gmail.com

bitcoinvancouver2013@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 9,810 hits

Follow me on Twitter

